An address has been marked as inactive. How can I reactivate it?

There are four types of suppressions, click on the type you want to reactivate and follow the steps:

Hard Bounces

To reactivate an address that has become inactive due to a Hard Bounce:

  1. Go to your Message Stream’s Suppressions tab.
  2. Use the Search Bar to search the recipient’s email address.
  3. Click on the Reactivate button and the email address will become active again immediately.

Reactivate the email address

You can also use our Suppressions API to remove hard bounced and unsubscribed recipients from the Suppression list to reactivate them.

Unsubscribes

If a recipient has unsubscribed, their email address will be added to the Suppression tab and the suppression reason will be "Unsubscribed". If the recipient wants to receive your messages again, you can reactivate them:

  1. Go to your Message Stream’s Suppressions tab.
  2. Use the Search Bar to search the recipient’s email address.
  3. Click on the Reactivate button and the email address will become active again immediately.

Spam Complaints

You shouldn’t be seeing many spam complaints (if any) but if you do and the recipient reaches out to you or your sender and wants to receive emails again, contact us and let us know the email address you'd like us to reactivate.

Manually Added

If a Postmark user has added an email address to the Suppression tab the suppression reason will be "Manually Added". To reactivate a manually added recipient:

  1. Go to your Message Stream’s Suppressions tab.
  2. Use the Search Bar to search the recipient’s email address.
  3. Click on the Reactivate button and the email address will become active again immediately.

Please note that reactivating recipients via the above methods will not resend any previously failed messages due to the address being inactive. This will only allow for sending new messages to this recipient again.

Subscription Change Webhook

You can also use our Subscription Change Webhook to immediately notify yourself anytime a recipient is added or removed from a Message Stream’s Suppression list.

Last updated May 23rd, 2022

Still need some help?

Our customer success team has your back!