Can I hide or turn off saving of message content in my Activity page?
For compliance reasons we monitor activity on all accounts as an anti-spam and anti-abuse measure. This helps us to ensure that Postmark’s sending reputation is not negatively affected by anyone sending poor or unsupported content.
By default Postmark collects and retains content and metadata for all emails for 45 days to give customers the ability to access their full message history during that time. It is possible to adjust this timeframe from 7 to 365 days with our Retention Add-on.
Once we reach the expiry date of a message, original email content and metadata are removed permanently for all messages including bounce and spam complaints. However, we do understand that for some privacy reasons that you may want to hide or delete activity immediately after a messages is sent.
For these cases we have a special feature available to hide the message content in the UI on a per server basis. This means that once you send a message the message body will not be shown or stored in the Postmark UI. There will be no way to see it, retrieve it or view it via the UI, however it will still be accessible using the API. You will still be able to see that the message was sent with the following data points: Subject line, Recipient, Attachment file names (if present), and Delivery confirmation or Bounce details.
This feature is available to customers who meet the following criteria:
- Account must be Approved and in good standing for at least 6 months
- Account must be on a paid monthly plan for 6 consecutive months (or have purchase credits)
- Account must have a lifetime sending volume of over 10,000 messages
If you need to hide message content via the UI on any of your Servers, and meet the above criteria, just email support and we can enable this setting for you.